Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Article Image
Photo by: South Dakota State University

SDSU men 3rd, women 4th...

Courtesy: SDSU Sports Info
Release: 10/29/2011 16:26:01

The South Dakota State men's and women's cross country teams finished 3rd and 4th, respectively, at The Summit League Championships...

On the men's side, Southern Utah ran away with the championship with 48 points. North Dakota State edged out SDSU by five points, scoring 95 to the Jacks 100. UMKC finished in fourth with 110 points, followed closely by South Dakota with 116. Oakland, IUPUI, Western Illinois, Oral Roberts and IPFW closed out the standings.

The Jacks were led by senior Greg Vollmer, who finished in sixth place with a time of 25 minutes and 16.40 seconds.

Freshman Trent Lusignan finished in ninth place with a time of 25:30.20. Junior Jared Ailts finished in 12th place with a time of 25:44.90. Senior Kyle Schmidt was 34th in 26:44.60. Sophomore Kenny Mayer closed out the scoring for SDSU in 39th place with a time of 26:55.10.

"Today is not what we wanted," head coach Rod DeHaven said. "Our first three gave us a chance, but we did not get the necessary support from our four and five guys. Greg and Trent really fought hard."

Vollmer was named to The Summit League First Team, while Lusignan and Ailts were named to the Second Team. Lusignan was also named Newcomer of the Year.

On the women's side, North Dakota State edged out Southern Utah for the team title, scoring 64 and 73 points, respectively. UMKC finished in third with 99 points. SDSU finished in fourth place with 116 points. South Dakota finished in fifth by one point at 132, with Oral Roberts in sixth at 133. Oakland, IUPUI, IPFW and Western Illinois closed out the standings.

The Jacks were led by senior Danielle Burke, who finished in 14th place with a time of 22 minutes and 40.67 seconds.

Junior Erin Hargens was 17th in 22:51.12. Junior Tera Potts finished in 20th place with a time of 22:54.82. Junior Danielle McCann finished in 31st place with a time of 23:24.41. Sophomore Laura Wolles closed out the scoring for SDSU in 34th place with a time of 23:28.49.

"Fourth was a solid result for our group," DeHaven said. "We had some people step up and have their best day of the season. It was great to see Danielle Burke earn all-conference after struggles with injuries over the years."

Burke was the only SDSU women's runner to earn all-conference honors, being named to the Second Team.

Complete results from The Summit League Championships can be found at the beginning of this article.

Complete all-conference teams can be found below.

Men's All-League Team
First Team
Cameron Levins, Southern Utah
Cosmas Ayabei, UMKC
Nate Jewkes, Southern Utah
Travis Fitzke, North Dakota State
Jeffrey Mettler, South Dakota
Greg Vollmer, South Dakota State
Shadrack Koech, Oral Roberts

Second Team
Zach Mathias, UMKC
Trent Lusignan, South Dakota State
Michael Castel, Western Illinois
John Hart, Southern Utah
Jared Ailts, South Dakota State
Kenny Wall, Oakland
Marty Joyce, North Dakota State

Championship MVP
Cameron Levins, Southern Utah

Newcomer of Championship
Trent Lusignan, South Dakota State

Coach of the Year
Eric Houle, Southern Utah

Women's All-League Team
First Team

Diana Medina-Mitchell, Southern Utah
Kristen Radcliff, Oral Roberts
Sheilah Ndasym, Oral Roberts
Brittni Hutton, Oakland
Sara Meiners, UMKC
Heidi Peterson, North Dakota State
Jordan Krahn, North Dakota State

Second Team
Jamie Smith, Southern Utah
Jylian Jaloma,  UMKC
Rachel Zajac, IUPUI
Lia Jones, Oakland
Maddie McClellan, North Dakota State
Madalyn Jones, Southern Utah
Danielle Burke, South Dakota State

Championship MVP
Diana Medina-Mitchell, Southern Utah

Newcomer of the Championship
Abbi Aspengren, North Dakota State

Coach of the Year
Ryun Godfrey, North Dakota State

The complete release on can be found on The Summit League website.

Jackrabbit Extra
Watch Live & On-Demand SDSU Sports
1st and Goal Defensive Backs...
Justin Sell Show (04.15.2015)
Uploaded Ad