Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Article Image
Photo by: South Dakota State University

Fiegen earns all-league honors

Courtesy: SDSU Sports Info
Release: 11/29/2011 16:58:02
Related Links

ELMHURST, Ill. - South Dakota State junior Kelli Fiegen followed up her 2010 Summit League Player of the Year honor by being the lone Jackrabbit represented on the 2011 all-Summit League teams, earning first-team honors for her performance during the season.

"Kelli had a fantastic season for us," head coach Phil McDaniel said. "She worked extremely hard for her teammates this season, and the numbers show that. This is a well-deserved honor for her."

A 6-3, middle blocker from Parkston, Fiegen led the Jackrabbits with 422 kills, a .346 hitting percentage and with 118 total blocks in 2011. She also ranked second in the league in hitting percentage and finished fifth in the league in both kills and total blocks.

In addition to her overall statistics, Fiegen became just the sixth junior at SDSU to reach the 1,000-kill milestone, and broke the school record for hitting percentage in a 4-set match, when she hit .773 (17-0-22) vs. Belmont on Sept. 2.

Fiegen enters her final season at SDSU in 2012 ranked15th in career kills with 1,065, ninth with 83 solo blocks, seventh 279 block assists and fourth all-time with a .323 career hitting percentage.

2011 All-Summit League Volleyball Teams

First Team

Meghan Bray, Oakland, Jr., OH

Kelli Fiegen, South Dakota State, Jr., MB

Megan Lambertson, North Dakota State, Jr., MH

Jennifer Lopez, North Dakota State, Sr., S

Analaine Pelaez-Mailoto, Southern Utah, Jr., OH

Bruna Silva, Oral Roberts, So., L

Emily Spencer, IPFW, Fr., OH

Second Team

Shari Bernhardt, IUPUI, Sr., L

Brynn Joki, North Dakota State, Jr., OH

Chrissy Knuth, North Dakota State, Sr., RS

Kendall Kritenbrink, South Dakota, Fr., OH

Tessa McGill, IPFW, Jr., L

Elizabeth McVicker, Oral Roberts, Jr., MH

Megan Steenhuysen, IPFW, Jr., S

All-Freshmen Team

Lauren Cammack, North Dakota State, OH

Taylor Humm, Oakland, OH

Kendall Kritenbrink, South Dakota, OH

Ann Miller, Western Illinois, OH

Gabi Mirand, Southern Utah, S

Emily Spencer, IPFW, OH

Kendall Wienkes, IPFW, OH

Player of the Year

Jennifer Lopez, North Dakota State

Defensive Player of the Year
Bruna Silva, Oral Roberts

Setter of the Year

Jennifer Lopez, North Dakota State

Freshman of the Year
Emily Spencer, IPFW

Coach of the Year

Kari Thompson, North Dakota State

Jackrabbit Extra
Watch Live & On-Demand SDSU Sports
WBB vs Oral Roberts Highlights...
WBB Weekly Update (02.10.2016)
Uploaded Ad