Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Article Image
Photo by: Robby Gallagher
Jason Schlautman was South Dakota State's lone first-team honoree on the all-MVFC Team.

Seven Jacks honored by MVFC

Courtesy: SDSU Sports Info
Release: 11/28/2011 11:26:55

ST. LOUIS - Seven players from South Dakota State have been honored on the all-Missouri Valley Football Conference Team, which was announced Monday morning. Voting for the all-conference awards was conducted among the league's nine head coaches, sports information directors and select media.

Leading the Jackrabbit contingent was first-team punter Jason Schlautman. A senior from Columbus, Neb., Schlautman led the league with an average of 42.2 yards per punt. A transfer from Nebraska-Omaha, Schlautman recorded 14 punts of 50 or more yards, including a season-long of 63 yards.

Three Jackrabbit players earned second-team honors, including senior wide receiver Dale Moss. In his lone season playing football, the senior from Brandon tied for the team lead with 61 receptions and led the squad with 949 receiving yards (15.6 yards per catch), while also catching six touchdowns. Moss led the league with an average of 86.3 receiving yards per game and was part of a three-way tie for receptions per game with 5.5.

Two members of the Jackrabbit defense - linebacker Mike Lien and defensive back Winston Wright - also were second-team honorees. A senior from Castaic, Calif., Lien posted a team-best 100 tackles, recording 10 or more stops five times. He also returned a fumble 40 yards for a touchdown at Illinois State and added an interception and four pass breakups during the season.

Wright, a sophomore from Lee's Summit, Mo., started all 11 games at cornerback and led the team with three interceptions and seven pass breakups. He finished the season strong by returning a fumble 68 yards for a touchdown and adding an interception in the 2011 finale at Western Illinois. Wright ranked fifth on the Jackrabbits with 57 tackles, including three for loss.

Rounding out the Jackrabbit honorees were honorable mention selections Aaron Rollin, Kyle Sheehan and Bryan Witzmann.

A junior wide receiver from Lee's Summit, Mo., Rollin shared the team lead with 61 receptions, while tallying 906 yards and a team-best seven touchdowns. Rollin posted four 100-yard receiving games, including an eight-reception, 155-yard outing at Youngstown State.

Sheehan, a native Grayson, Ga., filled the role of fullback/H-back during his senior season. He caught seven passes for 36 yards, including a 3-yard touchdown in the season opener against Southern Utah.

Witzmann started all 11 games at left tackle for a Jackrabbit squad that averaged 370.3 yards of total offense per game. A sophomore from Houlton, Wis., Witzmann has started all 22 games during his career at South Dakota State.

SDSU finished the 2011 season with a 5-6 overall record, including a 4-4 mark in the Missouri Valley Football Conference to finish in a tie for fourth place.

Jackrabbit Extra
Watch Live & On-Demand SDSU Sports
WBB vs NDSU (02.06.2016)
MBB vs IUPUI (02.06.2016)
Uploaded Ad