Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Article Image
Photo by: Robby Gallagher

Pack Named All-Conference

Courtesy: SDSU Sports Info
Release: 03/18/2013 17:10:31

South Dakota State wrestler Cody Pack earned All-Western Wrestling Conference recognition for his West Regional performance.

By way of his runner-up finish at 157 pounds, Pack was named Second Team All-WWC.

Individuals earned spots on the first, second and third teams based on their finishes at the West Regional on March 9 in Laramie, Wyo.

Pack was one of 19 first-time honorees.

Pack is set to represent the Jackrabbits at the NCAA Championships. He secured an automatic bid with his runner-up finish in the 157-pound weight class at the West Regional. Pack upset second-seeded Andy McCulley (Wyoming), who had defeated him twice this season, to advance to the championship match. McCulley received an at-large bid to the NCAA Championships.

In the first round of the Championships, Pack drew Jedd Moore, the No. 12 seed from Virginia. Moore posted a 29-6 overall record this season. The match is bout 80 and scheduled for Thursday morning.

Complete brackets are available at the beginning of this article.

The 2013 NCAA Championships are hosted by Iowa State and scheduled for March 21-23 at the Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines, Iowa. For more information, visit Championship Home on NCAA.com.

The complete Western Wrestling Conference release is available below.

Western Wrestling Conference 

Western Wrestling Conference Announces 2012-13 All-Conference Squads

March 18, 2013

OREM, Utah -- The Western Wrestling Conference announced its All-Conference teams for the 2012-13 season on Monday. Individuals earned spots on the respective teams with their finishes at the 2013 NCAA West Regional/WWC Championships on March 9 in Laramie, Wyo. Five of the six league schools competed at the West Regional as Northern Colorado was ineligible for postseason competition this year. 

Three defending West Regional individual champions successfully kept their titles and earned First Team All-WWC honors, including North Dakota State's Trent Sprenkle (125 pounds) and Steven Monk (165) as well as Wyoming's Alfonso Hernandez (197). 

Six of the 10 members named to the first team were repeat winners from one of the three all-conference squads in years past. The only newcomers to earn first team accolades were Air Force's Dylan Hyder (133), Wyoming's McCade Ford (141) and Shane Woods (184), and Utah Valley's Adam Fager (285). In all, 19 of the 30 student-athletes named All-WWC are first-year winners.

Wyoming's L.J. Helbig (174) and Alfonso Hernandez (197) as well as Air Force's Cole VonOhlen (149) were all named all-conference for the fourth time in their careers. 

Team-wise, Wyoming led the way with four first-team honorees. Air Force, North Dakota State and Utah Valley were next with two apiece. Overall the Cowboys led the way with nine of their wrestlers being named all-conference. NDSU was next with eight while UVU had seven and AFA finished with five.  

The Western Wrestling Conference is comprised of six schools including the Air Force Academy, North Dakota State, Northern Colorado, South Dakota State, Utah Valley and Wyoming.

125 - Trent Sprenkle (NDSU), Sr., Billings, Mont. (Billings HS)*
133 - Dylan Hyder (AFA), So., Yelm, Wash. (Yelm HS)
141 - McCade Ford (WYO), Sr., Payson, Utah (Payson HS)
149 - Josh Wilson (UVU), Sr., Morgan, Utah (Morgan HS)*
157 - Josh Kreimier (AFA), Jr., Fort Collins, Colo. (Loveland HS)*
165 - Steven Monk (NDSU), Jr., Wausau, Wis. (Wausau West HS)**
174 - L.J. Helbig (WYO), Sr., Mason, Mich. (Mason HS)***
184 - Shane Woods (WYO), So., Tuttle, Okla. (Tuttle HS)
197 - Alfonso Hernandez (WYO), Sr., Blackfoot, Idaho (Blackfoot HS)***
285 - Adam Fager (UVU), So., Layton, Utah (Layton HS)

125 - Josh Martinez (AFA), Fr., Colorado Springs, Colo. (Coronado HS)
133 - Josh Rodriguez (NDSU), Fr., Guadalupe, Calif. (Righetti HS)
141 - Avery Garner (UVU), Jr., Boise, Idaho (Centennial HS)*
149 - Cole VonOhlen (AFA), Sr., Jackson, Minn. (Jackson County Central)***
157 - Cody Pack (SDSU), So., Quincy, Calif. (Quincy HS)
165 - Abner Cook (UVU), Jr., Pocatello, Idaho (Pocatello HS)
174 - Monte Schmalhaus (UVU), Jr., Tooele, Utah (Tooele HS)
184 - Mac Stoll (NDSU), Sr., Dent, Minn. (Perham HS)*
197 - Kallen Kleinschmidt (NDSU), Sr., Helena, Mont. (Capital HS)
285 - Evan Knutson (NDSU), So., Wausau, Wis. (Wausau West HS)*

125 - Tyler Cox (WYO), So., Gillette, Wyo. (Campbell County HS)
133 - Chasen Tolbert (UVU), So., Delta, Utah (Delta HS)
141 - Mark Erickson (NDSU), Sr., Roseau, Minn. (Roseau HS)*
149 - Brandon Richardson (WYO), So., Rathdrum, Idaho (Lakeland HS)
157 - Andy McCulley (WYO), So., Rock Springs, Wyo. (Rock Springs HS)
165 - Dakota Friesth (WYO), So., Adel, Iowa (Adel-DeSoto-Minburn HS)
174 - Kurtis Julson (NDSU), So., Inner Grove Heights, Minn. (Simley HS)
184 - Devin Hightower (AFA), Jr., Colorado Springs, Colo. (Widefield HS)
197 - David Prieto (UVU), So., Las Vegas, Nev. (Las Vegas HS)
285 - Leland Pfeifer (WYO), So., Hulett, Wyo. (Hulett HS)

* Denotes two-time honoree
** Denotes three-time honoree
*** Denotes four-time honoree



Jackrabbit Extra
Watch Live & On-Demand SDSU Sports
Soccer Weekly Update (10.13.2015)
Stig Radio Show (10.12.2015)
Uploaded Ad