Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Article Image
Photo by: South Dakota State University

Women finish 6th in conference

Courtesy: SDSU Sports Info
Release: 10/30/2010 15:45:51

CARMEL, Ind. - The South Dakota State women's cross country team posted a sixth place finish at The Summit League Cross Country Championship Saturday in Carmel, Ind.

The Jackrabbits recorded a team score of 159 points. Oakland, who took the first place spot, posted 45 points, while runners-up Southern Utah recorded 50 points and third-place North Dakota State tallied 80 points.

Erin Hargens led the Jackrabbits with a third-place finish in a season best 21 minutes 24.3 seconds. The sophomore from Sioux Falls, S.D. earned a spot on the all-league first team.

Kelsey Clausen crossed the finish line next for the Jacks in 36th place in a time of 23:09.5, while Mariah Hofer followed in 40th place with a time of 23:22 and Tera Potts in 43rd place with at ime of 23:25.2.

Also competing for the Jackrabbits are Brooke Wyffels, who took 48th place with a time of  23:33.4, Katie Boot, who took 49th in 23:35.9, and Krista Creager, who finished in 23:53.5 for 54th place.

Anna Garner finished in 54th place with a time of 23:56.6, while Danielle McCann finished in 58th place with a time of 24:19.1

Southern Utah's Jamie Smith took the individual title with a time of 21:17 and was named Championship MVP.

Oakland's Paul Rice was honored with Summit League Coach of the Year.

The women are set to compete next in the NCAA Midwest Regional Nov. 13 in Peoria, Ill.

Women's All-League Team
First Team
Jamie Smith, Southern Utah
Sheilah Ndasym, Oral Roberts
Erin Hargens, South Dakota State
Lia Jones, Oakland
Sara Lieblein, Oakland
Brittni Hutton, Oakland
Sylvia Bedford, Southern Utah

Second Team
Kelsey Carmean, Oakland
Heidi Peterson, North Dakota State
Jylian Jaloma, UMKC
Kirsten Bradford, Southern Utah
Aubrey Frederking, UMKC
Danielle West, Southern Utah
Ana Paez, IUPUI

Championship MVP
Jamie Smith, Southern Utah

Newcomer of the Year
Heidi Peterson, North Dakota State

Coach of the Year
Paul Rice, Oakland

Jackrabbit Extra
Watch Live & On-Demand SDSU Sports
MBB vs South Dakota Highlights...
WBB vs IPFW Highlights (02.13.2016)
Uploaded Ad