Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Article Image
Photo by: South Dakota State University

Baseball award winners announced

Courtesy: SDSU Sports Info
Release: 08/10/2012 08:38:34
Related Links

Senior outfielder Beau Hanowski earned three awards, including the Billy McMacken Most Valuable Player Award, to highlight the South Dakota State University baseball team's postseason honors.

A native of Little Falls, Minn., Hanowski shook off injury early in the season to record a team-best .326 batting average in 35 games. A two-time first-team all-Summit League selection, Hanowski added 16 runs batted in and 19 runs scored. He also was the recipient of the Chris Brown/Doug Sehr Coaches Award and the Dave Lane Gold Glove Award after posting a perfect 1.000 fielding percentage in 72 chances.

Fellow seniors Eric Cain and Andrew Phelan were named recipients of the Dean Krogman and Dave Manke captains awards, respectively, as well as the Cole Irish Mr. Hustle Award. The career assists leader from his shortstop position, Cain tallied a team-best 34 runs batted in, while hitting .295 with a pair of home runs. Phelan played both in center field and second base duirng the 2012 season, posting a .285 batting average with a team-high six stolen bases.

Receiving the Greg Geary Big Stick Award were senior catcher Zach Briggs and sophomore first baseman Aaron Machbitz. Briggs shared the team lead with four home runs, while Machbitz turned in a team-high 11 doubles and added four home runs to go along with a .302 batting average.

Junior pitcher Stephen Bougher was honored as the Trevor Schulte Pitcher of the Year Award. A two-time Summit League Pitcher of the Week honoree, Bougher led the pitching staff in wins (6), innings pitched (76.1) and shutouts (2), while ranking second with 50 strikeouts.

First-year pitchers Adam Bray and J.D. Moore were honored with the Jim Langer Freshman of the Year Award and Gary Olechoski Fireman Award, respectively. Bray went 3-3 with a 4.31 earned run average as he held a spot in the starting rotation throughout the season. Moore emerged as the team's closer late in the season, recording a team-high five saves. He struck out 18 batters in 17.1 innings.

Rounding out the list of award winners was junior catcher Steven Autenrieth with the Ed Maras Newcomer of the Year Award. Autenrieth batted .267 in his first season in a Jackrabbit uniform.

Jackrabbit Extra
Watch Live & On-Demand SDSU Sports
Men's Basketball Weekly Update...
Justin Sell Show (02.10.2016)
Uploaded Ad