Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Article Image
Photo by: South Dakota State University

Fiegen named Summit League Player of the Year

Courtesy: SDSU Sports Info
Release: 11/18/2010 22:32:35
Related Links

ELMHURST, Ill. - A night before she makes her Summit League Tournament debut, the league head coaches voted South Dakota State sophomore Kelli Fiegen its Player of the Year of the 2010 season after the middle hitter led the league in two statistical categories and ranked in the top five in another in league play.

Along with Fiegen's honor, Jackrabbit junior Ellyce Youngren earned an all-Summit League second team selection for her efforts during the season.

"This is a tremendous accomplishment by a young lady who completely represents SDSU, the athletic department, our volleyball program and the state of South Dakota to its entirety!" SDSU head volleyball coach Nanabah Allison-Brewer said. "We are so proud of her, congratulations to her, and to Ellyce on her all-league selection as well. We wouldn't be playing in this tournament without them!"

A Parkston native, Fiegen tied for a league-high two Offensive Player of the Week honors, ranked first in hitting percentage in league play with a .416 hitting percentage and with 1.24 blocks per set and ranked fourth with 3.38 kills per set.  

Overall on the season, she led the Jackrabbits with a .390 hitting percentage, which ranked second in the league and 21st in the nation, with 1.21 blocks per set, also a league best, and with 3.08 kills per set, good for fifth in the league.

A team captain from Brookings, Youngren led the Jackrabbits with 354 kills and with 35 service aces, and ranked second on the team with 11 double-doubles.

The Jackrabbits return to action at The Summit League Tournament on Friday against top seed and defending tournament champion IPFW at 5 p.m. from Bentson Bunker Fieldhouse in Fargo, N.D.

First Team
Brittany Dunn, OU, Sr., L
Kelli Fiegen, SDSU, R-So., MH
Chrissy Knuth, NDSU, Jr., MH
Megan Lambertson, NDSU, So., MH
Analaine Pelaez, SUU, So., OH
Maya Schlindwein, IPFW, Sr., OH/RS
Megan Steenhuyseen, IPFW, So., S

Second Team
Shari Bernhardt, IUPUI, Jr., L
Brittney Clark, SUU, Sr., S
Brynn Joki, NDSU, So., OH
Stephanie Lamberti, IPFW, Sr., OH
Elizabeth McVicker, ORU, So., MH
Ellyce Youngren, SDSU, Jr., RS
Jocelyn Swier, ORU, Sr., MH

Brittany Anglemyer, IUPUI, MH
Jordan Kissman, North Dakota State, S
Alexis Meeks, IUPUI, S
Bruna Silva, Oral Roberts, L/DS
Laura Taylor, Oral Roberts, S
Audrey Wilson, Oakland, OH
Alissa Youart, Southern Utah, RS

Player of the Year
Kelli Fiegen, South Dakota State

Defensive Player of the Year
Brittany Dunn, Oakland

Setter of the Year
Megan Steenhuyseen, IPFW

Freshman of the Year
Jordan Kissman, North Dakota State

Coach of the Year
Kelley Hartley Hutton, IPFW

Jackrabbit Extra
Watch Live & On-Demand SDSU Sports
WBB vs NDSU (02.06.2016)
MBB vs IUPUI (02.06.2016)
Uploaded Ad