Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Article Image
Photo by: Inertia Sports Media/Dave Eggen

Gibson named to all-freshmen team

Courtesy: SDSU Sports Info
Release: 11/21/2013 23:39:56
Related Links

INDIANAPOLIS - The Summit League released its year-end awards on Thursday night in Indianapolis, and South Dakota State middle blocker Tiara Gibson played her way on to The Summit League’s All-Freshman team.

“Coming from a small high school in South Dakota, Tiara has certainly grown leaps and bounds since coming to South Dakota State, and it’s a great honor for her to receive recognition for all of her hard work,” head coach Phil McDaniel said. “Offensively, we’ve just scratched the surface with her and I have high expectations for her future.”

A Clear Lake, S.D., native and graduate of Deuel High School, Gibson led the Jackrabbits with 69 total blocks on the season, eight solo blocks and 61 block assists, and finished second on the team with 161 kills and with a .226 hitting percentage in all matches and with 102 kills and a .306 hitting percentage in league play.

See below for a complete list of The Summit League postseason volleyball awards.


Kelsey Biltoft, South Dakota, So., MH

Moriah Fair, IUPUI, Sr., OH
Jenni Fassbender, North Dakota State, So., OH
Kaitlyn Hickey, IUPUI, So., OH
Beth Howard, IUPUI, Jr., DS
Colleen King, Denver, Sr., RS
Kendall Kritenbrink, South Dakota, Jr., OH
Tori Kroll, South Dakota, Sr., S
Alexis Meeks, IUPUI, Sr., S
Brea Muhle, Denver, Sr., MH
Hailie Ripley, Fort Wayne, So., MH
Emily Spencer, Fort Wayne, Jr. OH

Honorable Mention
Nola Basey, Denver, Fr., OH

Moni Corrujedo, Denver, Fr., OH
Ann Miller, Western Illinois, Jr., OH
Emily Miron, North Dakota State, Fr., MH
Megan Schmale, Omaha, So., OH
Sarah Schmid, Denver, So., MH

Freshmen Team
Nola Basey, Denver, OH
Monica Claxton, North Dakota State, S
Moni Corrujedo, Denver, OH
Tiara Gibson, South Dakota State, MH
Emily Milligan, North Dakota State, DS
Emily Miron, North Dakota State, MH
Logan Walling, IUPUI, MH

Player of the Year
Kendall Kritenbrink, South Dakota

Defensive Player of the Year
Beth Howard, IUPUI

Setter of the Year
Alexis Meeks, IUPUI

Freshman of the Year
Nola Basey, Denver

Coach of the Year
Steve Payne, IUPUI


Jackrabbit Extra
Watch Live & On-Demand SDSU Sports
MBB Weekly Update (02.05.2016)
Wedemeyer on 2016 Soccer Recruits...
Uploaded Ad