Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Article Image
Photo by: South Dakota State University

Three Jackrabbits earn all-league honors

Courtesy: SDSU Sports Info
Release: 03/03/2011 15:11:22
Related Links

SIOUX FALLS - Three South Dakota State men's basketball players earned all-Summit League honors as announced by the league at The Summit League Championships at the kick-off press conference on Thursday at the Sioux Falls Arena.

A three-time winner of the league's player of the week award, Nate Wolters earned first-team honors, with Clint Sargent earning a place on the second team and Jordan Dykstra an all-newcomer team nod.

"We're very proud of Nate, Clint and Jordan," head coach Scott Nagy said. "We were a very good offensive team this year and I think these awards reflect that, and that gives us an indication of how highly the rest of the league views our players."

A sophomore from St. Cloud, Minn., Wolters led the Jackrabbits with 19.0 points per game, breaking the SDSU sophomore scoring record with 551 points this season and counting. Wolters also led the team with 176 and 30 steals.

A senior from South Sioux City, Neb., Sargent averaged 15.3 points per game and enters the tournament with an SDSU record 248 career three-pointers. He also comes I as the Jackrabbits most prolific scorer at the Division I level with 1,478 career points, sixth most all-time at SDSU and just 11 points shy of moving up to fifth all-time.

 A freshman from Rock Valley, Iowa, Dykstra started 16 straight games for the Jacks this season, before eventually finding his place as the team's sixth man. Dykstra flourished in his new role, and closed the season with an 11.1 points per game average to go along with his team-high 5.0 rebounds per game. He also led the team with a .545 field goal percentage, which includes a .500 average from beyond the three-point arc.


First Team
Keith Benson, Oakland
Reggie Hamilton, Oakland
Leroy Nobles, IUPUI
Dominique Morrison, Oral Roberts
Nate Wolters, South Dakota State
Alex Young, IUPUI

Second Team
Ben Botts, IPFW
Jay Couisnard, UMKC
Will Hudson, Oakland
Clint Sargent, South Dakota State
Michael Tveidt, North Dakota State

Honorable Mention
n Bell-Holter, Oral Roberts
Frank Gaines, IPFW
Spencer Johnson, UMKC
Matt Lander, Western Illinois
Warren Niles, Oral Roberts

Travis Bader, Oakland
Reggie Chamberlain, UMKC
Jordan Dykstra, South Dakota State
Steven Roundtree, Oral Roberts
Stephen Thomas, IUPUI

Player of the Year: Keith Benson, Oakland

Newcomer of the Year: Steven Roundtree, Oral Roberts

Sixth Man of the Year: Larry Wright, Oakland

Defensive Player of the Year: Keith Benson, Oakland

Coach of the Year: Greg Kampe, Oakland

Jackrabbit Extra
Watch Live & On-Demand SDSU Sports
Men's Basketball Weekly Update...
Justin Sell Show (02.10.2016)
Uploaded Ad