Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Article Image
Photo by: South Dakota State University

Wolters moves to seventh in fan votes

Courtesy: SDSU Sports Info
Release: 03/02/2012 13:44:22
Related Links

BOSTON, Mass. - Middle Tennessee State's LaRon Dendy is the leading vote getter half way into the Fan Voting competition for the Lou Henson Player of the Year Award presented by POINT 3 Basketball.

Creighton's Doug McDermott and Isaiah Canaan of Murray State round out the top three. Notably, South Dakota State's Nate Wolters climbs into the top ten with a recent spike in support. Voting is open until March 12.

The Lou Henson Award is presented annually to the top Mid-Major player in Division I college basketball. The award is named in honor of Lou Henson who retired after a spectacular coaching career that lasted 41 years. When he left the game in 2005 he was sixth all-time in career DI wins with 779. He is the winningest coach at Illinois and New Mexico State, and one of only 12 coaches in the history of the game to take two schools to the Final Four.

Fan Voting presented by POINT 3 marks the first time in college basketball history that students are leading on-campus campaigns designed to help their nominee win. POINT 3 will make a contribution to the general scholarship fund of the school that accumulates the most votes, and throw their student body a viewing party for the NCAA men's basketball championship. Fans can vote online at VoteLouHenson.com.

Jackrabbit Extra
Watch Live & On-Demand SDSU Sports
The Jackrabbit Insider (07.19.2015)
The Jackrabbit Insider (07.12.2015)
Uploaded Ad