Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Article Image
Photo by: Tim Potts

Men's Cross Country Claims Championship

Courtesy: SDSU Sports Info
Release: 10/27/2012 15:02:37

Rochester, Mich. - The Jackrabbits men's cross country team today won the 2012 Summit League Cross Country Championships. Michael Krsnak won the meet with a time of 25:06.4, which was his first ever win in the cross country championships.


Krsnak was honored with the championship MVP award with his win.

It was a strong showing from the rest of the Jackrabbits as Trent Lusignan finished third. Lusignan finished in a time of 25:16.8, improving from last year with a ninth place finish.

Jared Ailts was the third Jackrabbit to finish in the top ten. Ailts took sixth with a time of 25:30.3.

SDSU had four runners in the top ten,  which was best in on the day. Joel Reichow helped secure the victory with a tenth place finish and a time of 25:59.7.

Freshman Phillip LaVallee posted a strong performance with his 15th place finish, and a time of 26:26.2.

Drew Kraft finished 17th with a time of 26:34.7.

In 27th was Kenny Mayer with a time of 26:55.7, followed by Connor Branick completed the course in 27:10.5. Branick finished 34th.

Last, but not least was Andrew Thies who finished 52nd with a time of 28:22.6.

This is the men’s third title in four years, and SDSU’s first ever male athlete of the year.

SDSU ended the day with 35 points, 27 points ahead of South Dakota.


Krsnak, Lusignan, Ailts were all named to the All-League First Team.


Reichow was the only SDSU runner to be named to the All-League Second Team.


Head coach Rod DeHaven was named the men's head coach of the year.


Next up for the Jackrabbits is the Fall Finale in Collegeville, Minn. on Nov. 2, at 5 p.m.

Jackrabbit Extra
Watch Live & On-Demand SDSU Sports
MBB vs South Dakota Highlights...
WBB vs IPFW Highlights (02.13.2016)
Uploaded Ad