Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Article Image
Photo by: South Dakota State University

Minett, McKnight honored by AP

Courtesy: SDSU Sports Info
Release: 12/15/2010 14:40:02
Related Links

NEW YORK — South Dakota State seniors Ryan McKnight and Kyle Minett earned spots on the Associated Press Football Championship Subdivision All-America Team, which was announced Wednesday. McKnight was named to the second team, while Minett received third-team recognition.

A native of Sioux Falls, McKnight was named to his second All-America squad in as many days. Also honored on the Walter Camp Football Foundation All-America Team, McKnight earned all-Missouri Valley Football Conference honors for the second consecutive season in 2010. He anchored a relatively inexperienced Jackrabbit offensive line that allowed only six sacks all season, while averaging 344 yards of total offense per game. The 6-foot-1, 295-pounder started nine games at center and two at left guard.

A repeat selection to the AP Third Team, Minett became the first Jackrabbit running back in history to gain 1,000 yards in three consecutive seasons. Despite missing the season finale due to injury, Minett tallied 1,208 yards and 12 touchdowns, topping the 100-yard mark in eight straight games as he earned first-team all-MVFC recognition. The Ruthton, Minn., native also ranked fourth on the team with 28 receptions for 192 yards. Minett finished his career second all-time at SDSU with 4,277 rushing yards.

SDSU, coached by John Stiegelmeier, finished the 2010 season with a 5-6 overall record, including a 4-4 mark in conference play.

Quarterback: Jeremy Moses, Sr., Stephen F. Austin (Texas).
Running Backs: Taiwan Jones, Jr., Eastern Washington; Nate Eachus, Jr., Colgate (N.Y.).
Linemen: Ben Ijalana, Sr., Villanova (Pa.); Curt Porter, Sr., Jacksonville State (Ala.); David Arkin, Sr., Missouri State; Mike Person, Sr., Montana State; Will Rackley, Sr., Lehigh (Pa.).
Tight End: Shadrae King, Jr., Robert Morris (Pa.).
Wide Receivers: Raymond Webber, Sr., Arkansas-Pine Bluff; Tysson Poots, Sr., Southern Utah.
All-Purpose: Gralyn Crawford, So., Stephen F. Austin (Texas).
Kicker: Jason Cunningham, Jr., Montana State.
Linemen: Kenrick Ellis, Sr., Hampton (Va.); Jabari Fletcher, Sr., Appalachian State (N.C.); Martin Parker, Sr., Richmond (Va.); Brent Russell, So., Georgia Southern.
Linebackers: J.C. Sherritt, Sr., Eastern Washington; Kyle Glazier, Sr., Western Illinois; Tyler Holmes, Jr., Massachusetts.
Defensive Backs: Mark Legree, Sr., Appalachian State (N.C.); Trumaine Johnson, Jr., Montana; Korey Lindsey, Sr., Southern Illinois; Eugene Clifford, Sr., Tennessee State.
Punter: David Harrington, Jr., Idaho State.

Quarterback: Deandre Presley, Jr, Appalachian State (N.C.).
Running Backs: Henry Harris, Sr., Southeast Missouri State; Eric Breitenstein, Jr., Wofford (S.C.).
Linemen: Johnny Culbreath, Sr., South Carolina State; Ryan McKnight, Sr., South Dakota State; Corey Konycki, Sr, Robert Morris (Pa.); Pat Illig, senior, Wofford (S.C.); Michael Booker, Sr., Northwestern State (La.).
Tight End: Andrew Kennedy, Sr., Columbia (N.Y.).
Wide Receivers: Marcus Harris, Sr., Murray State (Ky.); Aaron Mellette, So., Elon (N.C.).
All-Purpose: Tavoy Moore, Jr., Idaho State.
Kicker: Matt Bevins, Jr., Liberty (Va.).
Linemen: Mario Kurn, Jr., San Diego (Calif.); Ameet Pall, Jr., Wofford (S.C.); Dain Taylor, Sr., Drake (Iowa); Zack Nash, Jr., Sacramento State (Calif.).
Linebackers: Bryce Smith, Sr., Samford (Ala.); Matt Evans, So., New Hampshire; Eric McBride, Sr., Richmond (Va.).
Defensive Backs: James Vercammen, Sr., Dayton (Ohio); Dino Vasso, Sr., New Hampshire; Moses Ellis, Jr., Prairie View A&M; Charles James, So., Charleston Southern.
Punter: David Miller, Sr., William & Mary (Va.).

Quarterback: Pat Devlin, Sr., Delaware.
Running Backs: Kyle Minett, Sr., South Dakota State; Frank Warren, Sr., Grambling State (La.).
Linemen:Brett Moore, Jr., Georgia Southern; Natiel Curry, Jr., Bethune-Cookman (Fla.); Austin Zlab, Sr., Northern Iowa; D.J. Hall, Jr., Texas State; Sean Middleton, Sr., Southeast Missouri State.
Tight End: Dean Rogers, Sr., UC Davis.
Wide Receivers: Joel Bradford, Jr., Chattanooga (Tenn.); Chris Summers, Jr., Liberty (Va.).
All-Purpose: Mark Rodgers, Jr., Cal Poly.
Kicker: Adrian Mora, Jr., Georgia Southern.

Linemen: Devon Langhorst, Sr., Dayton (Ohio); Kenneth Charles, Sr., Stephen F. Austin (Texas); Andrew Soucy, Sr., Eastern Kentucky; Josue Ortiz, Sr., Harvard (Mass.).
Linebackers: Jabara Williams, Sr., Stephen F. Austin (Texas); Dejuan Fulghum, Sr., Texas Southern; D.J. Smith, Sr., Appalachian State (N.C.).
Defensive Backs: Justin Rogers, Sr., Richmond (Va.); Anthony Bratton, Sr., Delaware; Laron Scott, Jr., Georgia Southern; Anthony Walters, Sr., Delaware.



Jackrabbit Extra
Watch Live & On-Demand SDSU Sports
WBB vs NDSU (02.06.2016)
MBB vs IUPUI (02.06.2016)
Uploaded Ad