Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Article Image
Photo by: South Dakota State University

Football announces award winners

Courtesy: SDSU Sports Info
Release: 02/13/2012 10:02:19
Related Links

Dale Moss was named the recipient of the Jim Langer Award as most valuable player of the South Dakota State University football team during the squad's annual banquet Sunday afternoon.

In his lone season playing football at SDSU, the former Jackrabbit basketball player earned second-team all-Missouri Valley Football Conference honors after recording 61 receptions for 949 yards and six touchdowns. Moss also was honored on the MVFC All-Newcomer Team and earned an invitation to the East-West Shrine Game.

Redshirt freshman quarterback Austin Sumner received the Adam Timmerman Award as offensive most valuable player and junior defensive lineman Andy Mink was the recipient of the Doug Miller Award as defensive MVP.

A 6-foot-5, 230-pound redshirt freshman from Brandon, Sumner started the final eight games at quarterback for the Jackrabbits and set a conference freshman record with 2,382 yards. He completed 59.7 percent (182-of-305) of his passes, throwing for 16 touchdowns and only nine interceptions. The third-place vote-getter for the inaugural Jerry Rice Award given to the top freshman in the Football Championship Subdivision, Sumner passed for at least 200 yards in each of his last seven starts and topped the 300-yard mark five times.

Mink led the Jackrabbits with six sacks and 8.5 tackles for loss from his defensive tackle position. The Greenwood, Neb., native also shared team-high honors with two forced fumbles and ranked second in total tackles with 75.

In addition, senior punter Jason Schlautman was named the recipient of the Adam Vinatieri Award as special teams MVP. A senior from Columbus, Neb., and a transfer from Nebraska-Omaha, Schlautman was the lone player from SDSU to earn first-team all-conference recognition in 2011. Schlautman led the league with an average of 42.2 yards per punt, recording 14 punts of 50 or more yards with a season-long of 63 yards.

Three first-year players were honored as scout players of the year. Linebacker Patrick Schuster was named Scout Defensive Player of the Year, while running Reginald Gandy earned Scout Offensive Player of the Year honors. Defensive back Jimmie Forsythe received Scout Special Teams Player of the Year recognition.

Rounding out the award winners were redshirt freshman running back Zach Zenner as the Josh Ranek Effort Award recipient and senior tight end Brad Iverson as the Scholar Athlete of the Year honoree.

Zenner ranked third among MVFC players in all-purpose yards with an average of 123.1 yards per game. A native of Eagan, Minn., Zenner led the team with 754 yards on kickoff returns (24.3-yard average), ranked second on the squad with 470 rushing yards and added 18 receptions for 130 yards. He also scored five touchdowns — three rushing and two receiving.

Iverson has compiled a perfect 4.0 grade-point average during his collegiate career while majoring in biochemistry. A three-year letterman, he earned a spot on the Football Championship Subdivision Athletic Directors Association Academic All-Star Team, was a member of the Missouri Valley Football Conference All-Academic First Team and also was was a semifinalist for the William V. Campbell Trophy as the top football scholar-athlete in the country during the 2011 season.

The Jackrabbits, coached by John Stiegelmeier, begin spring practice in March. The annual Spring Game is slated for April 21, with the 2012 season opener set for Sept. 1 at Kansas.





Jackrabbit Extra
Watch Live & On-Demand SDSU Sports
WBB vs Oral Roberts Highlights...
WBB Weekly Update (02.10.2016)
Uploaded Ad