Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Article Image
Photo by: Robby Gallagher

Zenner, Witzmann named to FCS Fabulous Fifty

Courtesy: SDSU Sports Info
Release: 01/15/2014 16:14:17
Related Links

CHICAGO — South Dakota State University running back Zach Zenner and offensive tackle Bryan Witzmann have been named to the College Sporting News 2013 Fabulous Fifty FCS All-America Team.

Zenner, a junior from Eagan, Minn., became only the second player in FCS history to rush for 2,000 yards in two different seasons, tallying 2,015 yards on a school-record 351 carries (5.7 ypc) in 2013. Zenner’s rushing total ranked second among FCS backs, while his 23 rushing touchdowns were fourth. He crossed the 100-yard mark in 12 of 14 games and surpassed the 200-yard mark three times, including tying his own school record with 295 yards Sept. 7 at North Dakota.

The Fabulous Fifty award marks the fifth different All-America team to which Zenner has been selected following the 2013 season. He also was a first-team selection by the Sports Network, Associated Press, Walter Camp Football Foundation and the American Football Coaches Association.

Witzmann wrapped up his Jackrabbit career by earning All-America honors for the second year in a row. A senior from Houlton, Wis., Witzmann helped pave the way for Zenner and a Jackrabbit offense that averaged 28.9 points and 384.6 yards of total offense per game. Witzmann started every game during his four-year career with the Jackrabbits, putting together a school-record string of 49 consecutive starts.

He also was a first-team All-America selection by the Sports Network and second-team honoree by the Associated Press this season.

The Roy Kidd FCS Coach of the Year Award: Craig Bohl, North Dakota State

The Adrian "AP" Peterson FCS Offensive Player of the Year Award: Jimmy Garoppolo, QB, Eastern Illinois
The James "Boomer" Grigsby FCS Defensive Player of the Year Award: Brad Daly, DE, Montana State
Offensive Lineman Of The Year: Billy Turner, OT, North Dakota State
Special Teams Player Of The Year: Xavier Roberson, KR, Southeastern Louisiana
Freshman Of The Year: Cooper Kupp, WR, Eastern Washington
Playoff MVP: Brock Jensen, QB, North Dakota State

QB Michael Nebrich, Fordham

QB Vernon Adams, Eastern Washington

RB Terrance West, Towson

RB Zach Zenner, South Dakota State

RB DaMarcus James, Jacksonville State

RB Lorenzo Taliaferro, Coastal Carolina 

FB Andrew Grothmann, North Dakota State

AP Jerrick McKinnon, Georgia Southern

OC Tristan Bellamy, South Carolina State

OG Dakota Dozier, Furman  

OG Collin Seibert, Eastern Illinois

OT Eric Pike, Towson

OT Bryan Witzmann, South Dakota State 

OL Chris Elkins, Youngstown State

OL Arinze Agada, McNeese State

TE MyCole Pruitt, Southern Illinois

TE Jeff LePak, Eastern Illinois

WR Erik Lora, Eastern Illinois

WR Lee Kurfis, Lehigh 

WR Sam Ajala, Fordham

WR Jeremy Butler, UT Martin



DT Sullivan Grosz, Cal Poly

DT Caraun Reid, Princeton

DE Terrence Fede, Marist

DE Davis Tull, UT Chattanooga

DL Zach Kerr, Delaware

DL Colton Underwood, Illinois State

LB Stephon Robertson, James Madison

LB Justin Shade, Samford 

LB Quinn Backus, Coastal Carolina

LB Jordan Tripp, Montana 

LB Cqulin Hubert, Southeast Louisiana

LB Grant Olson, North Dakota State

CB Marcus Williams, North Dakota State

CB T.J. Lee III, Eastern Washington

DB Jerome Couplin III, William & Mary

DB Jaquiski Tartt, Samford

S Caleb Schaffitzel, Missouri State

S Daniel Fitzpatrick, Tennessee State


K Griffin Thomas, Jacksonville State

P Kyle Loomis, Portland State 

KR Adrian Wilkins, North Carolina Central

PR Torrance Williams, Sam Houston State 

LS Richard Wright, Liberty 


COACH Jack Cosgrove, Maine

QB Quinn Epperly, Princeton 

RB DaMarcus James, Jacksonville State

RB DJ Adams, Portland State  

AP Fabian Truss, Samford

C Edmond Davis, Alabama State 

OG Jamey Cheatwood, Coastal Carolina 

TE Dan Light, Fordham 

WR Kenny Cook, Gardner Webb

WR Lee Doss, Southern

WR R.J. Harris, New Hampshire 

WR Roman Wilson, Princeton

WR Tre McBride, William & Mary 

DB Jacob Hagen, Liberty 

DB Lucky Dozier, Northern Arizona 

DL Shaquille Riddick, Gardner-Webb

DL Zach Hodges, Harvard 

DL Mike Reilly, William & Mary 

DL Troy Moore, Sacred Heart 

DL Zach Hodges, Harvard

LB Joe Thomas, SC State 

LB Lynden Trail, Norfolk State 

LB Tyler Starr, South Dakota 

PR Tavoris Doss, Alcorn State  

P  Eric Enderson, Delaware 

KR Xavier Roberson, Southeastern Louisiana 

Jackrabbit Extra
Watch Live & On-Demand SDSU Sports
MBB vs South Dakota Highlights...
WBB vs IPFW Highlights (02.13.2016)
Uploaded Ad